Modules Developed by Fellows

Aquifer Characterization: Case Study from Snake Valley

In this module, you will learn how to analyze pump and slug test data to determine hydrogeologic parameters (e.g. hydraulic conductivity, transmissivity, storativity, etc.) and characterize the aquifer system underlying the Snake Valley along the Nevada-Utah border. The module begins with a brief review of aquifer properties and covers well tests, uncertainty in hydrogeologic parameters, and hydrostratigraphy. The target audience includes upper-level undergraduate and graduate students studying hydrology, hydrogeology, and water resources engineering.

Module Author:

Dr. Alex Beebe is an Associate Professor of Geology in the Department of Earth Sciences where he specializes in hydrology, hydrogeology, and environmental geology. He received a B.S. in Geology and Biology from the University of South Alabama in 2007 and went on to receive his Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering and Science from Clemson University in 2013. Prior to receiving his Ph.D., Dr. Beebe worked as a staff geologist for an environmental consulting firm that specializes in monitoring groundwater contamination plumes from leaky underground storage tanks and superfund sites, risk based corrective action, and landfill permitting and monitoring. Dr. Beebe’s research interests lie in the relationship between human activities and the quantity and quality of water resources, and he is currently working to elucidate the effects of diffuse groundwater discharge through seafloor sediments (i.e. submarine groundwater discharge) on the quality of coastal waters.

Mark Hausner is an Assistant Research Professor in Hydrology at the Desert Research Institute in Reno, Nevada. His research focuses on understanding heat and mass transfer in the environment, especially as these processes are impacted by climate change and in turn affect ecosystems. A broadly trained hydrologist with a background in water resource engineering, Mark advises students and teaches Groundwater Hydrology and Hydrologic Field Methods in the University of Nevada, Reno Graduate Program of Hydrologic Sciences.

hausner.jpg

List of all HydroLearn Fellows

Picture
Name
Affiliation
Email
Aljobeh, Zuhdi
Valparaiso University, IN
zuhdi.aljobeh@valpo.edu
Archibald, Josephine
Humboldt State University
jaa185@humboldt.edu
Arias, Mauricio
University of South Florida
mearias@usf.edu
Ashraf, Fahmidah
Bradley University
fashraf@fsmail.bradley.edu
Bandaragoda, Christina
University of Washington
cband@uw.edu
Beebe, Alex
University of South Alabama
dbeebe@southalabama.edu
Bruschke, Freddi
CSU Fullerton
fbruschke@fullerton.edu
Chandler, David
Syracuse University
dgchandl@syr.edu
Cothren, Gianna
University of New Orleans
gcothren@uno.edu
Di Vittorio, Courtney
Wake Forest University
divittoc@wfu.edu
Di Vittorio, Damien
Columbia Engineering
ddivittorio@columbia-engineering.com
Dutta, Som
Utah State University
som.dutta@usu.edu
Farough, Aida
Kansas State
afarough@ksu.edu
Forbes, Cory
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
cory.forbes@unl.edu
Girotto, Manuela
University of California, Berkeley
mgirotto@berkeley.edu
Gonwa, William
Milwaukee School of Engineering
gonwa@msoe.edu
Gutierrez, Hugo
The University of Texas at El Paso
hagutierrez@utep.edu
Haacker, Erin
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
ehaacker2@unl.edu
Harman, Ciaran
Johns Hopkins
charman1@jhu.edu
Hausner, Mark
Desert Research Institute, Reno NV
mark.hausner@dri.edu
Lane, Belize
Utah State University
belize.lane@usu.edu
Maggioni, Vivana
George Mason University, VA
vmaggion@gmu.edu
McDonald, Walter
Marquette University
walter.mcdonald@marquette.edu
McMillan, Hilary
San Diego State University
hmcmillan@sdsu.edu
Meselhe, Ehab
Tulane University
emeselhe@tulane.edu
Mossa, Joann
University of Florida
mossa@ufl.edu
Olson, Mira
Drexel University
mso28@drexel.edu
Pahlow, Markus
University of Canterbury
markus.pahlow@canterbury.ac.nz
Polebitski, Austin
University of Wisconsin Platteville
polebitskia@uwplatt.edu
Rogers, Peter
Georgia Southern
progers@georgiasouthern.edu
Roundy, Joshua
University of Kansas
jkroundy@ku.edu
Sandoval-Solis, Samuel
University of California, Davis
samsandoval@ucdavis.edu
Smith, Tyler
Clarkson University, KY
tsmith@clarkson.edu
Spelman, David
Bradley University
dspelman@bradley.edu
Ward, Adam
Indiana University
adamward@indiana.edu
Wen, Tao
Syracuse University
twen08@syr.edu
Wilson, Clint
Louisiana State University
cwillson@lsu.edu
Xu, Shangping
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
xus@uwm.edu